Get all things strings in your inbox with our free newsletters. Your E-mail:




The Strings newsletter.

Yours Free!


featured memberPost blogs and video, start and join discussions around your favorite topics, and meet fellow string players at the Strings Community.

Create an online profile


Rachel Barton Pine—Solo Violin Work Dedicated to the Rebirth of a Nation

Mohammed Fairouz’s Sonata for solo violin is a personal and a political statement

Mohammed Fairouz and I met last year and hit it off right away. In response to the uprising in Egypt, which had just begun, he composed the lament “For Egypt,” now the central third movement of his Sonata for solo violin. Rather than following a traditional structure, the sonata ends with a fifth-movement lullaby celebrating the voice of my 1742 “ex-Soldat” Guarneri del Gesù.

Dear Visitor,

This article, "Rachel Barton Pine—Solo Violin Work Dedicated to the Rebirth of a Nation," is part of the Strings Archive, which you can access with a paid site subscription.

If you have a paid subscription, you are seeing this message because you have not logged in.

What do you want to do?

Log in using my current paid subscription account.

Subscribe now and get our best offer.

*This article appeared in Strings May 2012
  • 1

More must read articles