Get all things strings in your inbox with our free newsletters. Your E-mail:




The Strings newsletter.

Yours Free!


featured memberPost blogs and video, start and join discussions around your favorite topics, and meet fellow string players at the Strings Community.

Create an online profile


Shubert's Fantasia in C major, D. 934 (Op. 159) for violin and piano, a rhapsodic masterwork

Schubert’s last, and perhaps greatest, piece for violin and piano

Composed in 1827, Schubert’s Fantasia in C major is the last, and probably the greatest, of his works for violin and piano. Like the Rondo brillant of 1826, it was written for Schubert’s friend, the pianist C.M. von Bocklett, and the young Bohemian violin virtuoso Josef Slavjk, who premiered it together at a private concert in 1828. Both are said to have been among the best players of their time, but the performance was not a success.

Dear Visitor,

This article, "Shubert's Fantasia in C major, D. 934 (Op. 159) for violin and piano, a rhapsodic masterwork," is part of the Strings Archive, which you can access with a paid site subscription.

If you have a paid subscription, you are seeing this message because you have not logged in.

What do you want to do?

Log in using my current paid subscription account.

Subscribe now and get our best offer.

More must read articles